pupose?

3.16
Why do this? Why do documentary work? It comes down to a very basic belief that story-telling/sharing stories/telling, is a profound means for us to find meaning in our own lives. To connect. To understand. To teach. I know this on one level as it’s the very first thing I address in a documentary class. But it’s one thing to know it intellectually and another to feel it when I wonder about the value of all the time I’m spending. And, I feel a sense of responsibility to those who have allowed me into their homes, or openly shared their stories and experiences.

I’m off to D.C. for a half marathon this weekend. No work. Just my own story for a few days. Don and Henry will hardly notice I’m gone.

Leave a Reply

